I bought this book called “potato food” so I could learn how to use potatoes in other forms than just the normal boring ones. I found that most of the recipies was pretty unhealthy though, and since I’m trying to lose weigh I got a bit disappointed. What I did find though, was this “potato and leek soup” which looked good. I’m not normally a fan of vegetable soups, but this was going to be pureed after cooking so I thought it looked fun!

The recipie was for 4 people so I tried to make only one portion. I used:
* 80g potatoes
* 40g onion
* 40g leek
* 10g margarine
* one vegetable stock cube (I should have used a half, but I like it spicy)
* 5dl water (most of this cooked away because I don’t have a lid for the pot)

First you cut the potatoes up in small pieces, about 2cm. And cut the onion and leek too. Sautee them in the margarine (or butter) for 2-3 min until they’re a bit soft. It should be done on low heat, so they don’t get any color. Then add the stock and bring to a boil. Boil for about 15 min or until the potatoes are done. Then use a hand mixer or something (I used my blender) to mix it. Taste with salt and pepper (I put a lot of pepper and then som chili too) Then heat up again and serve.

My soup got really reduced. And maybe I blended it too much, because the picture in the book shows a more watery soup with thicker puree. Mine got very thick and was a bit like baby food. BUT it was delicious still ๐Ÿ™‚ Probably not something I would serve guests though, haha. I will say this is a new recipie tried out, so I can add it to my “101 things in 1001 days-list” though.

I guess you can see a picture: (the image in the book was more green, I guess they used more leek)
And also for fun, the dinner from the day before; whole grain spaghetti + sauce and a bit cheese. + Chinese cabbage. I LOVE Chinese cabbage ๐Ÿ˜€dinner 15.10.08

dinner 14.10.08